Author Leslie Zemeckis to Receive Ellis Island Medal of Honor

Author, actor, and documentarian Leslie Zemeckis will be awarded a 2023 Ellis Island Medal of Honor for her work telling women's stories and promoting female authors.

Zemeckis is the author of the books Behind the Burly Q (Skyhorse, 2010), Goddess of Love Incarnate (Counterpoint, 2016), and Feuding Fan Dancers (Counterpoint, 2019), which all center on the world of burlesque. 

She is also directs the Entity magazine book club, which highlights female authors, and is the founder of the mentorship program Stories Matter, which pairs female authors with the young female storytellers.

The Ellis Island Medal of Honor has been presented since 1986, and past recipients include Elie Wiesel, Malala Yousufzai, and eight U.S. presidents.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at:

To subscribe: click here.