Ling Ma Wins 2022 Story Prize

The winner of the 2022 Story Prize is Ling Ma for her collection Bliss Montage (FSG). Ma received the award during a private ceremony in New York City on March 15.

The other finalists were Andrea Barrett for Natural History (W.W. Norton) and Morgan Talty for Night of the Living Rez (Tin House).

The Story Prize’s $20,000 top prize is among the largest first-prize amounts of any annual U.S. book award for fiction. As runners-up, Barrett and Talty each received $5,000.

Click Here to download the complete press release

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at:

To subscribe: click here.