ALA Unveils Shortlist for 2016 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence

The American Library Association (ALA) announced the six books on the shortlist for the Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction & Nonfiction on Monday, Oct. 19. The two medal winners will be announced by selection committee chair Nancy Pearl at the Reference and User Services Association’s Book and Media Awards event at ALA Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits in Boston on Sunday, January 10.

2016 shortlisted titles include:

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction Shortlist

H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald (Grove Press)

Hold Still: A Memoir in Photographs by Sally Mann (Little, Brown, and Company)

The Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt's New World by Andrea Wulf (Alfred A. Knopf)

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence Nonfiction Shortlist

The Book of Aron by Jim Shepard (Alfred A. Knopf)

A Little Life: A Novel by Hanya Yanagihara (Doubleday)

The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen (Grove Press)

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.