Ben Fountain Wins 2024 Joyce Carol Oates Prize

Ben Fountain is the winner of this year's Joyce Carol Oates Prize, a $50,000 award for mid-career authors of fiction presented by the New Literary Project.

Fountain is best known as the author of the 2012 novel Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk; his most recent novel, published last year by Flatiron, is Devil Makes Three.

He was also a finalist for the prize in 2018. As the winner, he will take up brief residence at the University of California, Berkeley (the marquee partner of the New Literary Project), and in California's Bay Area, including Saint Mary’s College of California—teaching and public speaking—in late October, dates to be determined.

"“Honored, elated, grateful, I’m feeling all of these emotions on being awarded the 2024 Joyce Carol Oates Prize," said Fountain in a statement, "in addition to keen anticipation at the prospect of engaging this fall with the extraordinary community of writers, teachers, and readers that New Literary Project has created since its founding in 2015."

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at:

To subscribe: click here.