V.V. Ganeshananthan Wins Carol Shields Prize

V.V. Ganeshananthan is the winner of the 2024 Carol Shields Prize for Fiction for her novel Brotherless Night (Random House). The award comes with a $100,000 purse, making it the largest English-language literary prize in the world for women and nonbinary authors.

This year's finalists—Eleanor Catton (Birnam Wood), Claudia Dey (Daughter), Kim Coleman Foote (Coleman Hill), and Janika Oza (A History of Burning)—will each receive $12,500. The jury comprised Jen Sookfong Lee (chair), Laila Lalami, Claire Messud, Dolen Perkins-Valdez, and Eden Robinson.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at: mike@nextstepsmarketing.com.

To subscribe: click here.