Ted Chiang Wins PEN/Bernard and Ann Malamud Award

Ted Chiang is the winner of the 2024 PEN/Bernard and Ann Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story.

Chiang is the author of the story collections Stories of Your Life and Exhalation, among other books. His fiction has won four Hugos, four Nebulas, and six Locus Awards, and it has been reprinted in Best American Short Stories

The award has been given since 1988, and previous winners include Edwidge Danticat, Lydia Davis, Deborah Eisenberg, Jhumpa Lahiri, Yiyun Li, Joan Silber, and Joy Williams.

Chiang will be honored at the annual PEN/Malamud Award Ceremony, held in partnership with American University, on December 6.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at: mike@nextstepsmarketing.com.

To subscribe: click here.