Granta Opens Submissions for Best of Young American Novelists

Granta magazine is looking for the best young American fiction writers for its 2017 Best of Young American Novelists issue. Published every 10 years, the special issue recognizes new fiction by the 20 best young American fiction writers under the age of 40, chosen by an independent jury.

Publishers have until March 1 to submit work from their most talented young writers by emailing for the entry form, rules, and information about how to submit, or by visiting the website here. 

The 2017 jury consists entirely of writers, including Paul Beatty, Patrick deWitt, A.M. Homes, Kelly Link, Ben Marcus and Granta’s editor Sigrid Rausing. The Best of Young American Novelists issue was last published in 2007, featuring writers such as Kevin Brockmeier, Anthony Doerr, Jonathan Safran Foer, Nicole Krauss, Yiyun Li, ZZ Packer, Karen Russell, Akhil Sharma and Gary Shteyngart.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at:

To subscribe: click here.