The twenty judges for the 1997 National Book Awards have been named. In the fiction category, the judges are Nicholas Delbanco, chair, Percival Everett, William Kittredge, Alison Lurie and Carol De Chellis Hill. The nonfiction panel, chaired by Suzannah Lessard, consists of Jonathan Harr, Stacy Schiff, Maryanne Vollers and Geoffrey Ward. P try judges are Michael Harper, chair, Fred Chappell, Li-Young Lee, Mona Van Duyn and Rosanna Warren. Young people's literature will be judged by Katharine Paterson, chair, Michael Cart, Julius Lester, Robert Lipsyte and Lois Lowry.

Application forms for submitting books may be obtained from the National Book Foundation, 260 Fifth Ave., Rm. 904, New York, N.Y. 10001; (212) 685-0261, fax (212) 213-6570. The deadline for submitting completed applications is July 15.