[ PW Home ] [ Bestsellers ] [ Subscribe ] [ Search ]

Publishers Weekly News

HM Caps '98 with NEBA Book Prizes
Judith Rosen -- 5/11/98
In a ceremony at the Boston Public Library April 28, the New England Booksellers Association presented the eighth annual New England Book Awards.
This year marked the first time that an award winner received a second publishing award from the organization. Wendy Strothman, executive v-p of Houghton Mifflin, who accepted the 1998 publishing award for her company, was also singled out in 1992, when she received one on behalf of Beacon Press.

Houghton Mifflin was cited again when Susan Meddaugh, author of Martha Speaks, received the 1998 NEBA Children's Book Award. Other 1998 NEBA book award winners included fiction writer Anita Shreve, author of The Weight of Water, for which she also received an L.L. Winship/PEN New England Award, and Bernd Heinrich, author of Trees in My Forest.

Houghton's NEBA honor was the crowning achievement of an award-winning season for the Boston-based independent: novelist Philip Roth's American Pastoral received a Pulitzer; Penelope Fitzgerald won a National Book Critics Circle award for The Blue Flower; Katherine Paterson received a Hans Christian Andersen Medal; and Russell Friedman garnered a lifetime achievement award from the American Library Association.

Nominations for the awards are solicited from more than 800 bookstores and publishers throughout New England.
Back To News
Search | Bestsellers | News | Features | Children's Books | Bookselling
Interview | Industry Update | International | Classifieds | Authors On the Highway
About PW | Subscribe
Copyright 2000. Publishers Weekly. All rights reserved.