The American Booksellers Association has announced that Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells and Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling are the winners of the 1999 ABBY Awards. Divine Secrets, published by HarperPerennial, won the ABBY in the adult category, while Harry Potter took home the honors in the children's segment.

The ABBYs, which carry a cash prize of $5000 plus an engraved prism, were established to honor books that independent booksellers most enjoyed recommending to their customers. The authors will receive their prizes at separate events during BookExpo America.