The Giles Whiting Foundation has announced this year's recipients of the 2001 Whiting Writers Awards. Each writer will receive a $35,000 prize.

The recipients of this year's awards are nonfiction writers Judy Blunt and Kathleen Finneran; fiction writers Emily Carter, Akhil Sharma, Samrat Upadhyay, Matthew Klam and John Wray; poets Joel Brouwer and Jason Sommer; and playwright Brighde Mullins.

The prizes are awarded to emerging writers of "exceptional talent and promise." The winners were given their awards at a ceremony at the Pierpont Morgan Library in New York City last week.