The International Board on Books for Young People has announced the U.S. nominees for the 2004 Hans Christian Andersen Awards. They are Lois Lowry and Vera B. Williams.

The awards are given biennially to an author and an illustrator who are judged to have made a lasting contribution to literature for children. Winners of the 2004 awards will be announced in April of next year and medals will be presented during the IBBY Congress in Cape Town, South Africa, September 5—9, 2004.