Cormac McCarthy, Al Gore and Walter Isaacson are among the winners of the third annual Quill Book Awards. McCarthy wins in the general fiction category for The Road, while Gore will take home the prize in history/current events/politics for The Assault on Reason, and Isaacson wins in the biography category for Einstein. Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird, first published more than 40 years ago, was voted the best audiobook of the year; HarperCollins's Caedmon Audio division released the classic on audio for the first time last August.

All 19 Quill winners will receive their awards at a ceremony to be held October 22 at Lincoln Center in New York City. The event will be hosted by NBC's Ann Curry and Al Roker, whose company will produce a Quills television special to air on NBC Universal Television Stations October 27. NBC and PW parent company Reed Business International are the co-sponsors of the Quills. Among those presenting the awards will be Tom Brokaw, Tina Brown and Gay Talese. Stephen Colbert will be the evening's special guest.

Other prize winners: Debut Author: The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield; Business: The No Asshole Rule: Building a Civilized Workplace and Surviving One That Isn't by Robert I. Sutton; Children's Chapter/ Middle Grade: The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick; Children's Picture Books: Flotsam by David Wiesner; and Cooking: Joy of Cooking: 75th Anniversary Edition by Irma S. Rombauer, Marion Rombauer Becker and Ethan Becker.

The winner in the Graphic Novel category is Making Comics: Storytelling Secrets of Comics, Manga and Graphic Novels by Scott McCloud; in the Health/Self-Improvement category the winner is How Doctors Think by Jerome Groopman, M.D; and the winner in Humor is I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence by Amy Sedaris.

Rounding out the list of prizewinners are Mystery/Suspense/Thriller: What the Dead Know by Laura Lippman; Poetry: For the Confederate Dead by Kevin Young; Religion/Spirituality: Religious Literacy: What Every American Needs to Know—and Doesn't by Stephen Prothero; Romance: Angels Fall by Nora Roberts; Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror: The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle: Day One) by Patrick Rothfuss; Sports: The Kings of New York by Michael Weinreb; and Young Adult/Teen: Sold by Patricia McCormick.

For the first time, the Quill winners were voted on by 5,000 booksellers and librarians from a group of nominees selected by the editors of PW, rather than by the general public. Readers can vote now through October 10 for the Book of the Year at A limited number of tickets to the Quills will be available to the public.