Center for Fiction Announces 2021 First Novel Shortlist

The Center for Fiction has announced the shortlist for the 2021 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. These seven titles were selected from a longlist featuring 27 debut novels published in the United States between January 1 and December 31, 2021. This years judging panel comprised Alexander Chee, Susan Choi, Yaa Gyasi, Raven Leilani, and Dinaw Mengestu. Each shortlisted author will receive $1,000, and the winner will receive a $15,000 prize. The winning novel will be announced at the Center’s Annual Awards Benefit and 200th Anniversary Celebration on December 7. 

The shortlist is as follows: 


Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at:

To subscribe: click here.