The Violet Crown Book Awards, which have been awarded by the Writers' League of Texas annually since 1990, have added an audiobook category, coordinated by Earful of Books. The Violet Crown Audiobook Awards will honor two outstanding published audiobooks, one fiction and one nonfiction, with a Texas connection. Each winner will receive a $1,000 cash prize and a trophy. Entries must have been published between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2000, and must have a Texas connection—publisher, author, narrator, subject matter or other link. Entrants should state in 10 words or less what the connection is, and are encouraged to be creative. Authors, not publishers, will receive the award, although publishers may submit titles. The cost of entry is $10 per title; entrants must be members of the Writers' League of Texas (but can join when they enter the contest. Membership is $50).

A panel of judges who are not members of the Writers' League or affiliated with Earful of Books will select the winners. Three finalists in each category will be notified in August 2001. The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony and reception on September 20. The deadline for submissions is June 30. Entry forms are available from the Writers' League of Texas, 1501 W. Fifth St. E-2, Austin, Tex. 78703, or e-mail awl@