Dead in the Water

Stuart Woods, Author HarperCollins Publishers $25 (320p) ISBN 978-0-06-018368-4
Stone Barrington, the lawyer and investigator featured in Dirt and Choke, returns for another twist- and sex-filled romp, which finds him matching wits with a Caribbean island politico in a fight to save the life of a beautiful yacht-owning widow. Allison Manning sails the Expansive into the harbor of St. Marks alone. Her husband, noted author Paul Manning, died of a heart attack--according to her account at the coroner's inquest--during the journey. She buried him at sea before completing the sail solo. Sir Winston Sutherland, St. Marks's minister of justice, seeking publicity that might elevate him to prime minister, decides to charge Allison with murder on the basis of an incriminating diary and a $12 million life insurance policy. Trial, verdict, sentence, appeal and punishment (death by hanging) are to be carried out in the briefest possible time. With everything favoring the prosecution, Stone, on the island for vacation, comes to the lady's aid in every possible way, even when he begins to have doubts about her story. Woods keeps this fast-paced yarn above farce but filled with enough humor, sex and clever surprises all the way to the last page to make it thoroughly entertaining amusement. (Sept.)
Reviewed on: 07/31/1997
Release date: 08/01/1997
Genre: Fiction
Open Ebook - 464 pages - 978-0-06-057469-7
Peanut Press/Palm Reader - 464 pages - 978-0-06-057467-3
Library Binding - 411 pages - 978-1-56895-508-7
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-06-084184-3
Mass Market Paperbound - 455 pages - 978-0-06-171191-6
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-06-084183-6
Mass Market Paperbound - 978-0-06-109689-1
Ebook - 464 pages - 978-0-06-180194-5
Ebook - 464 pages - 978-0-06-112316-0
Analog Audio Cassette - 3 pages - 978-0-694-51849-4
Mass Market Paperbound - 432 pages - 978-0-06-109349-4
Hardcover - 978-0-06-018374-5
Hardcover - 978-0-06-109644-0
Mass Market Paperbound - 464 pages - 978-0-06-207679-3
Downloadable Audio - 978-1-4498-7358-5
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-06-256538-9
Compact Disc - 978-1-4417-4710-5
Compact Disc - 978-1-4417-1266-0
Show other formats
Audio book sample courtesy of HarperAudio
Discover what to read next